Posts Tagged ‘sea captain’

Press Release: Seized by Max Hardberger

March 25th, 2010

SEIZED throws open the hatch on a shadowy maritime world where third-world governments place exorbitant liens against ships, pirates snatch commercial vessels with impunity, crooks and con artists reign supreme on the docks and in the shipyards—and hapless owners rely on sea captain and “repo-man” Max Hardberger to recapture their ships and win justice on the high seas.

 

SEIZED

A Sea Captain’s Adventures Battling Scoundrels and Pirates While Recovering Stolen Ships in the World’s Most Troubled Waters

 

MAX HARDBERGER

 

 

“What I do is so uncommon that I’m probably the only person in the world who does it.”—Max Hardberger

 

Captain Max Hardberger steals ships—cargo-carrying freighters—for a living. In the murky world of ocean shipping, a small bribe to a local judge in some lawless, third-world country is enough for a craft worth millions of dollars to be “legally seized” from its legitimate owner and held for inflated or fictionalized claims levied against it. And that’s where Max comes in: he Max is an agent of last resort. When efforts to reclaim the ship through legal means have been exhausted, he puts together a mission- impossible team to steal the ship back, sneaking it out of treacherous waters on a high-stakes assignment—if Max and his crew are caught, they risk imprisonment or death. 

SEIZED: A Sea Captain’s Adventures Battling Scoundrels and Pirates While Recovering Stolen Ships in the World’s Most Troubled Waters (Broadway Books; hardcover; April 6, 2010), takes readers behind the scenes of the multibillion-dollar shipping industry as Max recounts his extraordinary adventures from New Orleans to the Caribbean; from East Germany to the ice-bound docks of Russia; and from Greece to the jungles of Guatemala. Max’s exploits pit him against a rogue’s gallery of antagonists, including Haitian rebels, modern-day Caribbean pirates, and Russian mobsters. Max plans each job with the precision of a military special-ops mission, but often employs less-than-orthodox techniques: he has resorted to using everything from whiskey and prostitutes to distract guards, to bribes and voodoo doctors to divert attention and sail a ship out of a corrupt foreign port, without clearance, under cover of darkness.

 SEIZED is an action-packed thrill ride through the criminal underworld of shipping. In the tradition of The Perfect Storm and Into the Wild, this is narrative nonfiction at its best, a compelling exploration of a world few of us know about.

 

About the Author

 MAX HARDBERGER has been an airplane pilot, a lawyer, a high school teacher, a writer, an adventurer, and a sea captain of commercial freighters. World renowned in his area of expertise, he has been repossessing illegitimately seized freighters for the last twenty years. His adventures have been featured by NPR, the Learning Channel, the Los Angeles Times, and numerous other publications. When not on the high seas, he lives in Louisiana. Visit his website at www.maxhardberger.com.

 

 

** The Good Pirate, a feature-length motion picture inspired by SEIZED and Max Hardberger’s ship-recovery adventures, is currently being developed by Lonetree Entertainment and Point Blank Productions. **

 

 

#     #     #  

SEIZED

A Sea Captain’s Adventures Battling Scoundrels and Pirates While Recovering Stolen Ships in the World’s Most Troubled Waters

By Max Hardberger

Broadway Books; Hardcover; $25.00

On Sale: April 6, 2010

ISBN: 978-0-7679-3138-0

www.maxhardberger.com

www.broadwaybooks.com

www.crownpublishing.com

 

 

To schedule your interview with Max Hardberger, please contact Ellen Folan in the Broadway Books publicity department at 212.782.8944 or efolan@randomhouse.com. 

National Author Tour

Baton Rouge, LA ? New Orleans, LA ? Jacksonville, FL ? Tampa, FL ? Ft. Lauderdale, FL ? Mobile, AL ? Oxford, MS

Broadway Books logo


The Crown Publishing Group