Posts Tagged ‘grandchildren’

Press Release: The Really Useful Grandparents’ Book

March 12th, 2010

THE REALLY USEFUL GRANDPARENTS’ BOOK

By Eleo Gordon & Tony Lacey

Whether through economic necessity or some wider cultural shift, grandparents and grandchildren seem closer today than ever before. Today’s grandparents are living longer—and staying active—so they’ve got the time and the years to be good grandparents, but so often they are held back by the generation gap and aren’t sure what they can do with their grandkids that will be fun for everyone.

Now, grandparents can stop being anxious about planning special time with their grandchildren and get involved the way they’ve always wanted with the new book: THE REALLY USEFUL GRANDPARENTS’ BOOK (Broadway Books; Hardcover; On Sale: April 6, 2010; Price: $24.99) by Eleo Gordon and Tony Lacey. To be a grandparent is a wonderful privilege. But there’s no point in pretending that it isn’t also a responsibility, and a very demanding one at that. With a bit of luck, this book will help. In the tradition of The Dangerous Book for Boys and The Daring Book for Girls, you’ll never have to hear the words “I’m bored” again!  

 Some of the great ideas in the book that you can explore with your grandchildren include:  

  • Camping out in the backyard
  • Having a treasure hunt
  • Learning to cook
  • Making a kite
  • Learning and performing card tricks
  • And…creating a special iPod playlist.

Each chapter contains simple directions and illustrations for all of these activities, plus stories interwoven throughout ranging in topics from Ancient Egypt to The Wild West, to Disasters at Sea and Famous Explorers to name a few.

This is the perfect book for any grandparent who knows just how special it is to bond with their grandchildren and is looking for ways to enhance and improve that relationship for years to come.

ABOUT THE AUTHORS:

Tony Lacey has worked as an editor at Penguin for thirty years. He has two grown-up children, and a granddaughter and grandson.

Eleo Gordon also works in publishing. Her parents lived abroad and as a child she spent most of her holidays with her grandparents.

 #     #     #   

 THE REALLY USEFUL GRANDPARENTS’ BOOK

By Tony Lacey and Eleo Gordon

Published by Broadway Books, an imprint of the Crown Publishing Group, a division of Random House, Inc.

Hardcover; $24.99; 352 pages

ISBN 978-0-7679-3254-7

www.broadwaybooks.com

For more information about THE REALLY USEFUL GRANDPARENTS’ BOOK or to schedule an interview with

Tony Lacey and/or Eleo Gordon, please contact Caroline Sill at 212-782-8943 or csill@randomhouse.com.

Broadway Books logo

 

 


The Crown Publishing Group