The Gap of Time

“[Winterson] makes us read on, our hearts in our mouths, to see how a twice-told story will turn out this time.”
—Publishers Weekly (starred review)


The Debut Title from the Hogarth Shakespeare Series



The Gap of Time Cover



The Winter’s Tale is one of Shakespeare’s “late plays.” It tells the story of a king whose jealousy results in the banishment of his baby daughter and the death of his beautiful wife. His daughter is found and brought up by a shepherd on the Bohemian coast, but through a series of extraordinary events, father and daughter, and eventually mother too, are reunited.

In THE GAP OF TIME, Jeanette Winterson’s cover version of The Winter’s Tale, we move from London, a city reeling after the 2008 financial crisis, to a storm-ravaged American city called New Bohemia. Her story is one of childhood friendship, money, status, technology and the elliptical nature of time. Written with energy and wit, this is a story of the consuming power of jealousy on the one hand, and redemption and the enduring love of a lost child on the other. Take a sneak peek at an excerpt from this masterful, literary tribute to Shakespeare’s enduring tale: The Gap of Time.



The Hogarth Shakespeare series is a major international publishing initiative across the Penguin Random House Group that sees the Bard’s most renowned plays retold by acclaimed novelists for a 21st-century audience. The lineup of writers whose Shakespeare retellings will be published by Hogarth in the years to come includes Anne Tyler, Margaret Atwood, Howard Jacobson, Jo Nesbo, Gillian Flynn, Tracy Chevalier, and Edward St. Aubyn, but it is bestselling author Jeanette Winterson who launches the series with THE GAP OF TIME (Hogarth; October 6, 2015), her cover version of Shakespeare’s The Winter’s Tale.






A novelist whose honours include England’s Whitbread Prize, and the American Academy’ s E. M. Forster Award, as well as the Prix d’argent at the Cannes Film Festival, Jeanette Winterson burst onto the literary scene as a very young woman in 1985 with Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit. Her subsequent novels, including Sexing the Cherry, The Passion, Written on the Body, and The PowerBook, have also gone on to receive great international acclaim. Her latest novel is Lighthousekeeping, heralded as “a brilliant, glittering, piece of work” (The Independent). She lives in London and the Cotswolds.

Related Posts:

The Crown Publishing Group