Press Releases

The Barefoot Queen, a new historical epic from Ildefonso Falcones

Internationally bestselling Spanish author Falcones brings us his latest novel, set in 18th-century Spain

The Barefoot Queen, a new historical epic from Ildefonso Falcones

The Barefoot Queen

Ildefonso Falcones
  • Imprint: Crown Publishers
  • On sale: November 25, 2014
  • Price: $28.00
  • Pages: 656
  • ISBN: 9780804139489
Contact: Rebecca Welbourn
212-782-9634
rwelbourn@penguinrandomhouse.com

“Robust . . . Exciting . . . [This] multifaceted look at gypsy life and morality is vivid and memorable.” —Booklist

“[Falcones] powerfully evokes time and place.” —Publishers Weekly

“Colorful  . . . [with] a slam-bang finale.” —Kirkus Reviews

 

Internationally bestselling author ILDEFONSO FALCONES has been called “Spain’s new Dan Brown.” His books have sold more than seven million copies and been translated into more than forty languages, making him a beloved figure in both his native Spain and abroad. Diana Gabaldon, writing in the Washington Post, has called his work “powerful . . . believable and enthralling.” Now Falcones brings us a breathtaking new novel, a historical epic in the tradition of Ken Follett and Umberto Eco that readers will find hard to put down.

THE BAREFOOT QUEEN (Crown; November 25, 2014) begins in Spain in 1748. When her master dies at sea, the slave Caridad arrives in Seville a free woman. But with her friends and family left behind in Cuba, including a young son torn from her side, Caridad has nowhere to go. By chance she falls under the protection of Melchor, a leader in the gypsy community. When she meets his granddaughter, Milagros Carmona—a spellbinding, rebellious young gypsy girl—the two women become inseparable.

Caridad finds herself swept into an exotic fringe society full of sarabandes and fandangos, romance, and art. But just as Caridad begins to feel at home, even adopting the colorful garb of her new friends and growing more interested in the guarded Melchor, a royal mandate turns gypsies into outlaws. Caridad and Milagros fear for their lives. The gypsy community is fractured, the two women are forced apart, their group split up. When the two women eventually reunite in Madrid, they band together with other gypsies in the struggle against widespread oppression. It’s a dangerous battle that cannot, and will not, be easily won.

From the bustle of Seville to the theaters of Madrid, THE BAREFOOT QUEEN is a fast-moving, unforgettably vivid historical fresco filled with characters who suffer and fight for the lives of those they love and for the freedom they can’t live without.

 

Ildefonso Falcones is a lawyer and internationally bestselling and award-winning author of Cathedral of the Sea and The Hand of Fatima. With over seven million copies sold, his previous work been translated into more than forty languages worldwide. He lives in Barcelona with his family.


Related Posts:

You Might Also Like

« »